Week 147: Parmesan sable

Our favourite things during our childhood tend to carry a special weight all through our adult life. And I think that’s exactly what my grandmother’s “cheese straws” meant to me. That is one of my favourite and most memorable cookies during the Lunar New Year (yes, even more than the pineapple tarts!), and it’s always such a treat.

It’s rather unfortunate that I could not find my grandmother’s original recipe for these, and so, have not had the chance to taste them for the longest time. Until my recent trip to Tokyo and chanced upon these delicious Parmesan sable from Pierre Hermé!

INGREDIENTS

50g Parmesan

50g plain flour

50g cold unsalted butter

1/2 tsp mustard powder

Black pepper

Cayenne pepper

Salt

DIRECTIONS

1) Add all the ingredients into the bowl of a food processor and process until it start to come together.

2) Gather the dough and press into the shape of a disc. Wrap in cling film and slow to rest in the refrigerator for an hour.

3) Preheat convection oven to 175C.

4) Roll out the dough to about 4mm and cut into desired shapes.

5) Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes or until lightly browned.

While I still don’t have the recipe, I am now motivated to try out recipes and see if I could achieve something similar. These were very cheesy and nicely flavoured but still lacks the texture of a good sable. Time for more testing.

Image | This entry was posted in Biscuit, Cheese and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

