Week 126: Vanilla and chocolate chiffon

I made plans a while ago to return to my parents’ place so I get to spend Mother’s Day with my mum this year. Unfortunately, something came up at work and my trip was delayed. I was so disappointed about the delay I felt like taking a weekend off baking. But a friend convinced me to bake my mum something special anyway, and that it is the thought that counts.

So I made my mum this chocolate and vanilla chiffon cake, layered with Digestive cookie crumbs, covered with speculoos buttercream and decorated with Swiss meringue buttercream blossoms. Chiffons are not my favourite cakes to bake, but I know my mum loves them. The cake recipes were adapted from this and the Speculoos buttercream was simply the leftover Swiss meringue buttercream added to a portion of the same weight of Speculoos spread.

Makes a 6-inch round cake

For the chocolate sponge cake

40g plain flour

10g cocoa powder

35g corn oil

3 large egg yolks
Pinch of salt
50g whole milk

3 large egg whites

50g fine granulated sugar

1) Line the base of a 6″ round cake tin with baking parchment. Preheat oven to 190C, no fan.

2) Sift together flour and cocoa powder.

3) Heat oil in a saucepan on low fire until a thermometer measuring reads 70C. Remove from heat and add the flour mixture. Whisk until smooth.

4) Add milk and stir until fully incorporated. The batter will be thick and lumpy.

5) Add the egg yolks and whisk until batter is smooth and runny. Set aside.

6) Put egg whites into a clean bowl of a stand mixer. Using the whisk attachment, whisk until foamy. Then gradually add the sugar and whisk until stiff peaks.

7) Fold the meringue into the yolk batter in 3 additions until smooth. Do not overmix.

8) Bake, using a water bath in preheated oven for 15 minutes, then lower the temperature to 145C and bake for another 45 minutes until the cake tester inserted into the middle of the cake comes out clean.

9) Remove cake from the oven and allow to cool for a few minutes. Unmould the cake by inverting it into a non-stick pan the allow it to cool right side up on a cooling rack.

For the vanilla sponge cake

40g plain flour

10g cornstarch

35g butter

3 large egg yolks

Pinch of salt

50g whole milk

3 large egg whites

50g fine granulated sugar

1) Follow the instructions for the chocolate sponge cake, replacing oil with butter and cocoa powder with cornstarch.

Sent her a photo of it this morning, along with my Mother’s Day greetings. She asked me to freeze a slice and bring it to her when I am home next. 🙂 Sometimes I forget how much I miss my mum, along with her random humour. There is nothing quite like the bond between a mother and her child. I can’t wait to see her again, soon. And hopefully she will like her cake.

Image | This entry was posted in Celebration cake, Chiffon, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 126: Vanilla and chocolate chiffon

Leave a Reply

