Week 120: Pistachio and mixed berry tartlets

 Once I get an idea in my head, I’d always have a hard time getting it out. And these past weeks, the idea has been pistachios, pistachios and MORE PISTACHIOS! The pistachio and strawberry tarts last week did not turn out as good as I was hoping. After a few taste testing, I thought it was not all bad, but the flavours just did not come through as strong as I would have liked.

So this week, I gave it another go, replacing the strawberry jelly with a home-cooked mix berry jam. I also chopped the pistachios instead of grinding them to the the feuilletine layer more bite. Finally, I did away with the crème legere, and just plonked the entire pistachio crème pâtissière onto the tart. And I this time I am actually happy with the result!

As usual, I used the pâte sucrée beurrée I made last week. I realised I have not recorded the baking instructions. But basically, it is blind baked for 15 minutes at 175C, then another 5 minutes after removing the aluminium foil to ensure tart crust is properly browned.

Makes 4 8cm tartlets

For the feuilletine layer

30g white chocolate

2og chopped, toasted pistachios

20g feuilletine flakes

1) Melt white chocolate on a Bain-marie. Remove from heat once melted. Do not overheat.

2) Add chopped pistachios and feuilletine flakes to the melted chocolate and fold gently to incorporate.

3) Divide equally amongst the 4 baked tart shells and press lightly so it covers the entire bottom of the tart.

For the mixed berry jam

120g mixed berry purée, strained

25g to 30g granulated sugar (depending on the sweetness of the purée)

3g pectin powder

1) Add pectin powder to granulated sugar and stir to mix well.

2) Heat the purée in a heavy-bottomed saucepan until 40C, stirring constantly to ensure it does not burn.

3) Add the sugar mixture to the purée and bring it a boil.

4) Set aside to cool to room temperature where it will thicken slightly but still fluid.

To assemble

1 portion pistachio crème pâtissière

30g white chocolate, melted

Ready-to-use fondant for decoration

1) Spoon about 25g of mixed berry jam into the center of each tart shell, on top of the feuilletine layer. Allow to cool in refrigerator for the jam to set.

2) Divide the pistachio crème pâtissière equally amongst the 4 tart shells. Again, chill it in the refrigerator until a skin has formed.

3) Drizzle melted white chocolate onto the crème pâtissière and decorate using fondant cut-outs if using.

The mixed berry jam recipe above made more than I used here. Potentially, you can add more to the tart. I was originally worried that the tartness of the berry jam will overpower the pistachios. But, in this case, the jam is more just a slightly tanginess which is more abstract than absolute. Again, it really is up to personal taste. I am happy with this and I am glad to say my pistachio tart research has finally come to a close.

 

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Pistachio, Tart and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 120: Pistachio and mixed berry tartlets

  1. Pingback: Week 131: Le dôme pour Vincent | The Baking Hermit

  2. Pingback: Week 131: Le dôme pour Vincent | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

