Week 118: Matcha brownies

Sometimes you see a picture of a dessert, and you just can’t shake off the idea. And that was exactly what happened to me since I saw the picture of a batch of matcha brownies from a fellow IG baker. The strange thing is, I was never a big fan of matcha. I drink a fair amount of green tea, and don’t mind matcha desserts. But given the choice, matcha is quite low on my pick for desserts. But I just couldn’t get matcha brownies out of my mind! They say the mind is a wonderful thing. And I cannot disagree – because, for the whole week, my mind conjured up a million ideas as to how matcha brownies should taste like!

So finally, I gave in to the curiosity. Armed with the recipe of that fellow IG baker and some nice matcha powder from another IG baker friend, I decided to embark on my very first matcha bake.

Makes a 8″ x 8″ tray

INGREDIENTS

200g white chocolate couverture

120g unsalted butter

50g fine granulated sugar
2 large eggs

A pinch of fleur de sel

1 tsp pure vanilla extract

1/4 tsp pure almond extract

70g plain flour

20g matcha powder

DIRECTIONS

1) Prepare the brownie pan, by lining a 8-inch by 8-inch baking tray with aluminium foil. Fold 2 long strips of aluminium fold and set them perpendicular to each other so you line the entire bottom of the pan, leaving the foil to overhang.

2) Preheat convection oven to 160C.

3) Put white chocolate and butter into a large bowl and melt them over a bain-marie. Once melted, remove from heat and allow to cool to room temperature.

4) Add sugar, eggs and the pinch of salt into the bowl of a stand mixer, then whisk on high speed until eggs are pale and ribbony.

5) Whisk the melted white chocolate and butter into the eggs, together with the extracts.

6) Add the flour and matcha powder into the egg mixture and fold until just combined.

7) Scrap batter into prepared pan, smooth it out and bake in preheated oven for 15 to 18 mins.

I was a little disappointed with the texture initially as it was not fudgy enough. In fact, it was more cakey than fudgy, and I thought it was because I overbaked it. But, after spending the night in the refrigerator, it became fudgy! Amazing. The taste is very rich with butter and chocolate and I think the matcha balanced it perfectly.

The original recipe uses a 7″x 7″ pan so I reckon the ones I baked turned out a little thinner. Knowing how delicious it is, maybe next time I will scale it to a proper 8″x 8″ pan, to get a more generous serving.

Image | This entry was posted in Brownies, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

