Week 117: Wholemeal sourdough loaf with caramelised onions

I was chatting with a friend the other day and he suggested caramelising onions with a little bit of balsamic vinegar. And that sounded so good I just had to remake this bread loaf. And he was absolutely right! Caramelised onions benefitted greatly from the addition of balsamic vinegar.

For this second loaf, I made a slight adjustment, using 300g of starter and omitting the rye and wholemeal flour. (Although, by now, my starter dough contains a mixture of both rye and wholemeal flour.) I added 350g of bread flour to the starter, and went with a lower hydration level of 65%. I also reduced the chilli from 4 to 2, as the last loaf was a bit too spicy, even for me. The shape of the loaf turned out beautifully this time. I flour-ed the banneton very, very generously! And I was quite happy with the scoring. But as the hydration level was lower, the loaf turned out to be more dense than I’d prefer. No matter. There’s always the next loaf.

Image | This entry was posted in Savoury, Sourdough and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 117: Wholemeal sourdough loaf with caramelised onions

  1. Pingback: Week 122: Caramelised onions sourdough loaf | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

