Week 114: Salted egg yolk cookies

Every year as the Lunar New Year approaches, new cookies vie for the spot of the “cookie of the year” position. Past winners were concoctions such as the green pea cookie, the fried crabstick (technically not a cookie) and fried arrowroot chips (again, not a cookie). This year, it looks like the award goes to the salted egg yolk cookies. So many people were posting their bakes on Facebook! And I finally caved.

Believe it or not, I have never seen a raw salted egg, nor did I know that salted eggs are always made from duck eggs. I had an embarrassing run-in at the grocers last week when I couldn’t tell the difference between a raw salted egg and a century egg – for the benefit of others like me, salted eggs are normally wrapped in a layer of black soil while century eggs are covered in a layer of fine wooden shavings. Oh well, I guess there’s always something new to learn.
There were so many people sharing photographs of their salted egg yolk cookie that I just had to give it a try. After sifting through, I finally decided to go with Guai Shu Shu’s version.

INGREDIENTS

2 salted egg yolks, cooked

60g unsalted butter, at room temperature

30g icing sugar

70g plain flour

30g milk powder

30g potatoes starch

1 egg yolk for egg wash

DIRECTIONS

1) Preheat convection oven to 165C.

2) Using the paddle attachment of the stand mixer, cream butter and icing sugar until pale and fluffy.

3) Mash the salted egg yolks using a fork and add it to the butter mixture and mix further until egg yolks are well distributed.

4) Sift in flour, potato starch and milk powder then fold by hand until dough comes together. Do not overwork.

5) Roll out the dough between 2 sheets of parchment to approximately 1 cm thickness.

6) Using your desired cookie cutters, cut out the cookies and place them on a parchment lined baking tray.

7) Add a few drops of water to the egg yolk and using a pastry brush, egg wash the top of each cookie.

8) Bake in the preheated oven for about 15 minutes until cookies have started to brown.

I guess, after all the trouble I went through with the salted eggs, I was hoping for a little more “oomph”. The cookie turned out to be, well, lacking the “oomph” factor. It is nonetheless I nice, buttery cookie. I will probably add in more salted egg yolks or other condiments next time round.

On a separate note, I was having lunch with some friends over the weekend and they were as clueless about salted egg as I was. In fact, one of them asked, “there’s raw salted eggs??” Made me feel so much better not being the only person who’s encounter with salted egg is the cooked ones at the fast food stalls.

Image | This entry was posted in Asian pastry, Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

