Week 114: Pineapple tarts

I have known Maria (not her real name) for a rather long time. She is one of the first few people who “kick-started” my baking hobby. In fact, she started baking a few months before me, when her parents got her a fancy oven for her birthday. Unlike me though, she is less obsessed about baking and since then, has taken interest in other hobbies, allowing baking to take a back seat.

But one thing she does every year is to bake pineapple tarts for the Lunar New Year. I remembered trying the tarts last year and thought, “it’s not bad, but it didn’t make me see God…” So, when she offered me some this year, I did not have very high expectations. But boy, was I surprised at how delicious they were! She shared her recipe with me, but I had to tweak it a little as the dough was just too crumbly and I couldn’t get it to work. But the tweaked version turned out quite good too. Kudos to Maria!

Makes approximately 70 to 80 cookies

INGREDIENTS

250g salted butter, cubed, cold

400g plain flour

2 + 1 egg yolks

600g pineapple paste, rolled into balls

DIRECTIONS

1) Add the cubed butter to the plain flour in a bowl of a food processor, and process until the size of bread crumbs.

2) Add the 2 egg yolks to the butter and flour mixture and process until dough begins to form.

3) Pour dough into a large and slow knead until dough comes together.

4) Pinch a portion about the size of the pineapple paste ball then flatten it slightly to wrap around the pineapple filling. Place cookies on a parchment lined baking tray.

5) Preheat convection oven to 160C.

6) Lightly whisk the remaining egg yolk with a few drops of water then using a pastry brush, egg wash the top of each cookie.

7) Bake for 20 to 25 minutes until cookie has started to brown.

8) Allow to cool to room temperature before storing in airtight containers.

I was never a big fan of pineapple tarts but I have to say, the simplicity of this recipe has really converted me. Not to mention how delicious it is too!

Image | This entry was posted in Asian pastry, Cookies and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 114: Pineapple tarts

  1. Pingback: Week 136: Pineapple tarts | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

