Week 109: Chocolate and lemon madeleines 

 This recipe from Pierre Hermé’s Chocolate Desserts book has been sitting at the back of my mind for the longest time. I have been wanting to try out my new madeleine pan, and I was looking for a chocolate madeleine recipe. But, for one reason or another, I just kept procrastinating!

Anyway, I finally got to it this weekend, seeing it’s probably my last baking weekend for the year, before I head back to my parents’ place for the holidays.

Makes 12 madeleines

INGREDIENTS

70g plain flour

25g cocoa powder

1/2 tsp double action baking powder

90g fine granulated sugar

a generous pinch of fleur de sel

zest of 1/2 lemon

2 large eggs

100g unsalted butter at room temperature

DIRECTIONS

1) Sift flour, cocoa powder and baking powder together into a bowl.

2) Place sugar and salt into a large bowl and zest lemon into the bowl. Rub the lemon zest into the sugar mixture until fragrant.

3) Crack the eggs into the sugar mixture and whisk by hand until combined.

4) Squeeze the softened butter by hand and add it into the egg and sugar mixture. Whisking until combined.

5) Fold the flour mixture into the egg mixture until just combined.

6) Cover and allow to chill in the refrigerator overnight.

7) On the next day, prepare the madeleine pan by coating it with butter then dusting cocoa powder. Tap to remove the extra cocoa powder.

8) Preheat convection oven to 220C.

9) Divide the madeleine batter equally on the prepared pan. There is no need to flatten the batter as the heat will take care of that.

10) Put the filled pan into the refrigerator to chill while oven is preheating, about 15 minutes.

11) Once oven is preheated, put the pan of madeleines into the oven and immediately turn the temperature down to 180C. Use a wooden spoon to keep the oven door slightly ajar.

12) Bake for 13 to 15 minutes until batter has risen and dried.

I did not get as much “hump” as I did before. Not sure if it has anything to do with the madeleine pan, or just the approach. I think I might just like Clotilde’s approach a bit more. It was a pain to have to hand-squeeze the butter – I hate getting my hands oily like that. But, it was delicious. Really light and chocolatey at the same time. Pierre Hermé definitely does not disappoint. However, next time I might just try Clotilde’s recipe by replacing some flour with cocoa powder, in the name of experimentation.

Image | This entry was posted in Cake, Chocolate, Lemon, Small Cakes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week 109: Chocolate and lemon madeleines 

  1. Lili says:

    Interesting recipe!!! They sound yummy. I’d be tempted not to squeeze the butter by hand too.. 🙂 Look forward to further experiments! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Lol. I think you’re supposed to do that French thing where you flatten the butter on your work surface with your palm. But the amount of cleaning up just put me off! Which method do you normally use for Madeleine’s?

      Like

Leave a Reply

