Week 105: Dark chocolate and salted caramel tartlets

I still have a batch of tart dough sitting in my freezer, and as I have a good friend visiting from out of town, I decided to bake up a batch of these milk chocolate and salted caramel tarts. This time I have an extra set of tart rings, and I was able to make 6 tarts in all, to finish off the tart dough. Also, I decided to go with dark chocolate for the pastry cream entirely for the pastry cream and was a lot more generous with the peanuts and salted caramel.

As a result of the thick layer of peanuts, I didn’t manage to squeeze enough chocolate pastry cream into the tarts. So I thought, instead of topping the tart with meringue, I shall find a decadent chocolate mousse recipe to make up for the lack of chocolate. After going through mounts of chocolate mousse recipe, I decided to go with my favourite chocolate expert, David Lebovitz’s version, with a slight modification by replacing the egg whites with whipped cream. As I mentioned, I wanted something “heavier”.

Makes enough mousse to top 7 tarts (and a little more)

INGREDIENTS

85g dark chocolate couverture

85g unsalted butter

30ml dark brewed coffee

2 large egg yolks

60g fine granulated sugar

15ml dark rum

1/4 tsp pure chocolate extract

pinch of fleur de sel

120ml whipping cream, very cold

DIRECTIONS

1) Put the whisk attachment of your mixer into the freezer.

2) Melt chocolate, butter and coffee over a bain-marie, removing it from the heat once the mixture is smooth. Allow to cool to room temperature.

3) In another bowl, add the egg yolks, sugar, rum and chocolate extract. Put the bowl over the bain-marie, and using a handheld mixer, whisk the egg yolk mixture until it is thick and pale, or the ribbon stage.

4) Pull the egg yolk mixture off the bain-marie and continue whisking until it has cooled to room temperature.

5) Fold the chocolate mixture into the egg yolk mixture. Cover with plastic wrap, pushing the cling wrap tightly onto the mixture and refrigerate.

6) Pour the whipping cream into the bowl of a stand mixer and add the pinch of fleur de sel. Afix the chilled whisked attachment and whisk the cream until stiff peaks.

7) Fold the whipped cream into the egg yolk mixture until no streaks are visible.

8) Pour mousse into desired silicon moulds and allow to set in the freezer.

9) I coat the frozen mousse with a layer of chocolate mirror glaze before placing them on top of the chocolate pastry cream covered tartlets.

I should probably have stick with my dome moulds for the mousse as it was really tricky to glaze the doughnut shapes. I dropped the frozen mousse into my glaze a couple of times when I tried to pour out the glaze collecting in the middle of the shape. Well, my friend liked the tarts very much. So that’s a win.

Ironically, a few days later, I went for dinner at one of the popular French restaurant in town, and happened to order their chocolate and salted caramel tart. I am not exaggerating when I said the ones I made is way, way better.

This entry was posted in Cheese, Chocolate, Mousse, Pastry, Peanut, Salted caramel, Tart and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

