Week 102: Chocolate Japanese cotton cheesecake

 It is one of my best friend’s birthday next week, and I am scrambling to bake a nice cake for her. For some reasons, all these breaks I have been having from baking made me a little “rusty”. Since we were doing a “cheese & wine” night on Sunday, I thought it would be a perfect opportunity to present the cake.

Finally, I decided to fall back on my chocolate Japanese cotton cheesecake. I made half a portion of the cake and the Bailey’s whipped cream frosting, which is more than enough to cover the cake quite nicely. To make it extra special, I decided to try my hands at piping some pink roses.

The recent craze about the buttercream flower wreath cake got me quite curious. But I have been told that in order to have a firm buttercream, shortening is usually added. And it always seem such a waste of buttercream as no one I know would ever eat all that buttercream. So I decided to go with Italian meringue buttercream, which is supposed to be the most stable form of non-shortening buttercream.

INGREDIENTS

55g egg whites

75g granulated sugar + 15g

125g unsalted butter, softened

INTRUCTIONS

1) Add 75g sugar into a heavy bottomed saucepan with 15g water and put it on the heat.

2) While the syrup is cooking, whisk the egg whites on high speed until soft peaks. Add the remaining 15g sugar, and continue whisking until stiff peaks.

3) If the egg whites were ready before the syrup reaches 118C, just turn the down to the slowest and allow it to whisk.

4) Once the syrup reaches 118C, slower pour the hot syrup into the egg whites while the whisk is running on low speed.

5) Turn the whisk back up on high speed once the syrup has been incorporated and allowed to whisk until mixture comes to room temperature.

6) Ensure the egg white mixture is cool to touch, then, start adding the butter in 3 additions, adding each one only after the previous one is incorporated.

7) Continue to whisk the buttercream until it is smooth and fluffy.

I flavoured the buttercream with 2 tablespoons of Bailey’s. It was delicious! The amount above was enough to pipe than 10 decently sized roses. And I am happy to report that the buttercream roses had no issues holding their shapes in room temperature at all.

Image | This entry was posted in Celebration cake, Cheese, Cheesecake, Chocolate and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

