Week 88: Helene’s brownies

I used to dislike brownies. I could probably attribute that to an ex-colleague of mine, who used to bring us these brownies, which were dry and cakey. And just totally spoil the idea of brownies for me. Until I tasted these super awesome brownies from a local bakery. It was so good, for a whole week after the first time I tasted it, there was nothing I could think of except how incredible delicious that chunk of brownie was.

Thus began my research for the perfect brownie. And who knows chocolate than blogger David Lebovitz? He, who is the authority of all things chocolate. And this chocolate brownie recipe looks very promising indeed.

Makes a 6-inch round brownie

INGREDIENTS

100g dark chocolate drops (> 70% cocoa butter)

30ml water

57g unsalted butter, cubed

30g caster sugar

40g light brown sugar

A generous pinch of sea salt

8g plain flour

2 large eggs

5g ground almond

32g chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

1) Preheat the oven to 160ºC fan.

2) Grease a 6-inch springform pan and line the bottom with parchment paper.

3) In a medium saucepan over low heat, melt the chocolate, water, and butter together, stirring constantly, until smooth. Remove from heat and stir in the sugars, salt and flour, then the eggs, one by one.

4) Mix in the ground almond and chocolate chips. Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and bake for about 20 minutes, until the center feels just about set. I prefer mine a little under-baked.

5) Let cool, then slice into wedges.

And I am happy to say, they are delicious! Now I can easily get my brownie fix at home. Awesome! The only change I would make is probably to reduce the caster sugar by 10g and to up the sea salt a bit more. But for now, I am very, very happy.

Image | This entry was posted in Brownies, Chocolate and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 88: Helene’s brownies

  1. Pingback: Week 103: Cream cheese brownies | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

