Week 88: Strawberry Japanese cotton cheesecake

Truth. I am getting a bit tired of baking cakes. Don’t get me wrong. I still love to bake, and it is always nice to see the smile of the birthday boy / girl when they see the cake. But, it gets a little stressful having to come up with a beautiful cake, which you hope will taste delicious when they cut into it (because it’s not like you can sample a slice beforehand). It takes up precious space in my refrigerator, and carrying it on the morning commute, boy, I don’t even want to go there.


So, this is going to be the last birthday cake for a while.

I wanted something simple and girlish, and seeing it is strawberry season, a pink cake seems very appropriate. I finally decided on a Japanese cotton cheesecake. I made the full recipe here, but tinted the whipped cream with Rose colouring instead of yellow. I flavoured the whipped cream with 1 tsp pure vanilla extract. There was some whipped cream left after covering the cake with rosettes, but it’s a little risky to make any less.

The cake was slice horizontally into 3 layers. And to fill the layers, I made 2 portions of cream cheese mousse and macerated 250g of cut strawberries with 20g of granulated sugar. I ended with so much extra mousse I actually ended up crumb coating the cake with it – with a rather thick crumb coat too. Next time I could probably make do with just one portion of the cream cheese mousse. And I think 200g of strawberries would have suffice, but I felt less guilty eating the berries.

Now I’m just crossing my fingers that the birthday girl will like this.

Image | This entry was posted in Celebration cake, Cheesecake, Mousse, Strawberry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

