Week 81: Lemon meringue tart

My tart endeavours always happen in a batch of four. That is because I only have 4 tart rings. Life is cruel like that.

This recipe reuses the tart crust, cream cheese mousse and torched meringue from my previous tart recipe. But the lemon curd was a recipe I stumbled upon from one of the pastry chef I follow on Instagram. It was super simple and the result was quite delicious. I think this is going to be my go-to lemon curd recipe from now on.

Makes about 250g of lemon curd

INGREDIENTS

Zest from 1 lemon

100ml freshly squeezed lemon juice, strained (from roughly 1.5 lemon)

75g icing sugar

1 large egg yolk

1 large egg

35g unsalted butter

DIRECTIONS

1) Add all ingredients except butter into a large bowl and place on a bain-marie.

2) Whisk mixture continuously until it thickens to the consistency of pastry cream. If you have a digital thermometer, this should happen when the temperature of the mixture reaches 80C.

3) Remove bowl from heat then add the butter. Whisk until butter is completed melted.

4) Leave to cool, then, store in jar and refrigerate.

This recipe makes more than enough for my batch of 4 mini tarts, but, hey, who’s complaining? My last batch of lemon curd did not keep that well. And that was how I discovered you can actually freeze lemon curd. Just let it thaw overnight in the refrigerator before using.

Image | This entry was posted in Lemon, Pastry, Tart and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

