Week 81: Hazelnut gianduia tart

As I had leftover crust from my earlier milk chocolate and salted caramel tarts, and is still working on perfectly my tart ring lining skills.

I decided to make something slightly different this time. I made a batch of pastry cream, using the same recipe. But instead of flavouring it with melted chocolate, I separate the pastry cream into 2 portions, To the first portion, I added 50g of hazelnut praline paste. This was the first thing to go into the tart crust. To this I added some plain, lightly toasted chopped hazelnuts. About 6g for each tart. The second portion of pastry cream was flavoured with 50g of gianduia, and used to cover the sprinkled nuts. As the tart was not filled quite to the brim, I decided to top it up with some leftover chocolate glaze. This was left to set in the freezer. Then, finished with some torched meringue, just because.

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Gianduia, Hazelnut, Pastry, Tart and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

