Week 80: Peanut cookies

I have been meaning to bake a batch of peanut cookies since the lunar new year, but somehow, just could not seem to find the time (and recipe) for it. Finally, when I went to Adelaide, my aunt made this delicious batch of peanut cookies, and was kind enough to share the recipe with me. So this weekend, I finally got down to it. Although, when I dug out the ground peanuts in my refrigerator, I realised it has got added sugar. So I had to improvise. Anyway, I will share the original recipe (with unsweetened ground peanuts) as this will be my go-to peanut cookie recipe in the future.

Makes approximately 160 cookies, depending on size of cookie cutter

INGREDIENTS

300g unsalted peanuts, finely ground

250g plain flour

1 tbsp of cornflour

¾ tsp of salt

170g caster sugar

140ml peanut oil

1 egg, for egg wash

DIRECTIONS

1) Preheat your oven to 150°C fan and line your baking trays with parchment paper.

2) Place ground peanuts in a large bowl. To the ground peanuts, mix in flour, cornflour and salt. Whisk to combine.

3) Add in 170g caster sugar and mix well

4) Add peanut oil to the peanut and flour mixture. The mixture should just hold together when it’s rolled into a ball.

5) Divide mixture into several portions and roll out each portion between 2 pieces of parchment paper. I rolled them out to about 0.5cm thickness.

6) Cut out cookies using cookie cutter and carefully transfer them to the prepared baking tray. The cookies do not expand when baked so you can place them quite close together, without touching.

7) In a separate small bowl, beat one egg to use for the egg wash. Lightly brush the top of each cookie with the egg wash.

8) Bake cookies in pre-heated oven until the cookies are golden-brown, about 15 to 20 mins.

One good thing about this cookie is that there is no raw egg in the mixture. So, as my attempt was somewhat thwarted by the sugared peanuts, I relied on quite a fair bit of taste testing when I was deciding how much sugar to add. And I reckon, it turned out rather well.

Image | This entry was posted in Asian pastry, Cookies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

