Week 75: Kueh Momo

I always get a little nostalgic when it comes to the lunar new year. I remember those times when I was at home, and mum and I would bake cookies together. Which is weird, as we are never really big on the new year celebration. But I supposed it is a kind of ritual. And I do miss it.

So today, ironically, when I was sick at home, I decided to this kueh momo, which every child who grew up in Kuching would know and have fond memories of. The strange thing, despite it being such a popular cookie, no one ever buys them, and I don’t recall ever seeing them being sold. I guess that is probably because it is so easy to make.

Makes approximately 40 cookies, depending on the size of each cookie

INGREDIENTS

150g Ghee (Q.B.B. brand is highly recommended)

200g plain flour

150g full cream milk powder

generous pinch of salt

icing sugar, enough for rolling the cookies in

INSTRUCTIONS

1) Stir fry the flour in a pan for about 5 minutes under medium heat. Cool and set aside.

2) Line a baking tray with parchment paper and pre-heat the oven to 160C (fan).

3) In a mixing bowl with ghee, sift in plain flour, milk powder and salt. Use your hand to lightly knead until the dough is well combined. Let in rest in the fridge for half an hour before shaping.

4) Pinch bits of dough and shape them into round balls. If it is too soft, chill it again. Place the ball in the baking tray.

5) Bake in the preheated oven at 140C (fan) for 8-10 minutes. When it is out of the oven, roll the cookie in a bowl of icing sugar. You have to be careful as the balls are very hot and fragile. Transfer the sugar dusted balls to a wire rack for complete cooling. When cooled, transfer to a container.

I was very fascinated with the melt-in-the-mouth feel of this cookie. I was really hoping to get that texture for my pineapple tarts, but was unable to. The only thing I could probably change is to perhaps add ¼ to ½ teaspoon of salt, as I found the cookie to be a bit on the bland side. But otherwise, it was a great bake. And so, so simple too!

Image | This entry was posted in Asian pastry, Cookies, Savoury and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

