Week 56: Chocolate aria tart

It is difficult to believe the number of videos I have watched and the number of recipes I have browsed in order to find that perfect sweet tart crust. And this one might have been the one, except I was a bit too heavy-handed when adding the liquid and the crust ended up a bit too wet. Handling was a real pain, and I think probably costs me the nice flaky tart base I was searching for. Although, I have to way, it did not shrink. So that is definitely a plus.

The best thing about this tart though, is the filling. The number of compliments I got on how chocolaty and decadent this tart surprised even me. So here is the recipe for this delicious chocolate filling adapted from this.

Makes enough to fill a 4″ x 13″ tart

INGREDIENTS

For chocolate tart mixture

105g dark chocolate couverture (I used one with 73% cocoa), chopped

30g 100% cocoa chocolate couverture, chopped

30g butter, diced

165ml cream

2 large eggs

For chocolate sauce – for the glacage

30g cocoa

100ml water

60g caster sugar

14g butter, diced

For chocolate glacage

150g dark chocolate, chopped

120ml cream

150ml chocolate sauce

DIRECTIONS

1) To make the tart mixture, preheat oven to 160°C. Place chocolate and butter in a bowl.

2) Place cream in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Pour cream over chocolate in bowl and stir until smooth, stir in eggs.

3) Pour all the chocolate mixture into tart shell. This should fill a little over half the tart. Bake for 25 minutes until the centre has just cooked and the top has just set. Take the tart out of the oven and allow to cool to room temperature.

4) For the chocolate sauce, combine cocoa, water and sugar in a saucepan and stir over heat until sugar dissolves. Bring to the boil, stir in butter until melted and mixed. Strain through a sieve placed over a bowl and set aside.

5) To finish the glacage, place chocolate in a large bowl. Place cream in a saucepan and bring to the boil. Pour cream over the chocolate in the bowl and stir until smooth. Add in the chocolate sauce that you just made and stir. When the completed tart has cooled, spoon or pour the glacage over the tart and place in fridge overnight until firm.

I reckon, if I make this again, I will double the amount of chocolate tart mixture, as I think I would prefer this layer to be slightly thicker. I did end up with quite a fair bit of the chocolate glaçage, which thankfully, I used to fill up the tart.

On to the next perfect tart crust search!

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Pastry, Tart and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 56: Chocolate aria tart

  1. Pingback: Week 121: Chocolate tartlets | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

