Week 54: Chocolate and hazelnut Bavarian cream with chocolate feuilletine crunch

I think my second attempt at these mini cakes came out better. I used my go-to chocolate cake as the sponge base. I made half the portion of the chocolate cake and was left with more than half of cakes! I baked it in the 9″ x 13″ sheet pan and had a difficult time cutting out the heart shape cakes. I reckon next time I will just bake it using the silicon mould and maybe trim them down to size.

As with the first attempt, I adapted the recipe from this, but this time I included a layer of the chocolate feuilletine crunch.

Makes 8 mini heart-shaped cakes and 1 3.5″ round cake

INGREDIENTS

For the chocolate feuilletine crunch

100g dark chocolate couverture

50g feuilletine

50g whole hazelnuts, toasted and chopped

For the Bavarian cream

125ml whole milk

2 large egg yolks

17g cornflour

42g castor sugar

½ teaspoon pure vanilla extract

2 gelatine leaves

250g whipping cream, whipped to stiff peaks

50g dark chocolate couverture, melted

50g hazelnut paste

DIRECTIONS

1) Prepare the crunch layer, by melted the chocolate, then fold in the feuilletine and chopped hazelnuts.

2) Using a template drawn on a piece of paper, place your acetate sheet on top. Then, spread a thin layer of the chocolate mixture on the acetate. Make sure to keep the layer thin as it will harden as it cools.

3) Leave the acetate sheets to cool in the freezer.

4) Soak the gelatine leaves in cold water and allow it to bloom.

5) For the Bavarian cream, heat the milk and sugar in a heavy-based saucepan. Lightly whip the egg yolks, cornflour and vanilla extract.

6) When little bubbles start to appear around the saucepan, temper the eggs by pouring the milk slowly into the egg yolk mixture, while whipping continuously.

7) Pour the eggs and milk mixture back into the saucepan and return to low heat, while stirring. Ensure it is heated until the custard starts to thicken. Most instructions specifies that it gets thick enough to coat the back of the spoon, but for me, I think the difference you can spot easily as it thickens, is that the little bubbles in the mixture will disappear.

8) Squeeze the extra liquid from the gelatine leaves and stir it into the custard, making sure that it melts.

9) Let the custard cool before folding in the whipped cream.

10) Separate the cream into 2 equal portions and add the melted chocolate and hazelnut paste respectively.

11) I made these using the mini heart-shape silicon mould. First, fill it about half way with the hazelnut Bavarian cream. I use approximately 27g. Top it with a crunch layer, pressing it into the Bavarian cream. Then, add an equal layer of chocolate Bavarian cream, and top it with a layer of chocolate cake. Press the cake into the cream so that it is level with the mould.

12) Leave the mould in the freezer to cool overnight.

13) You can leave it as it is, but I like to finish it with a chocolate mirror glaze. And I added a pinch of edible glitter.

The 3.5″ cake was made from the leftover cream and I reckon I could have made 2 more heart-shape cakes if I had an extra mould. I have a lot of the chocolate feuilletine crunch left, which I kept in the freezer. To reuse, just melt it in a bain-marie.

To turn out the cream cakes from the silicon mould, ensure that it is completely frozen. As my mould makes 8 cakes, I noted that the cakes I turned out earlier (straight out from the freezer) had nicer and sharper edges compared to the ones turned out later. If you are particular about getting sharp edges, you may do well to refreeze the cakes after you have turned out 2 of them. Although that could be quite time consuming.

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Entremet, Hazelnut, Small Cakes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week 54: Chocolate and hazelnut Bavarian cream with chocolate feuilletine crunch

  1. Pingback: Week 116: Chocolate, hazelnut and passion fruit entremet | The Baking Hermit

  2. Pingback: Week 134: Le cœur pour Charles | The Baking Hermit

  3. Pingback: Week 134: Le cœur pour Charles | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

