Week 53: Earl Grey and Bailey’s chocolate mousse

I have been wanting to try out this recipe for the longest time, and was glad to finally get to it. It was a lot simpler than I thought it would be. Unfortunately, my 3.5″ cake rings were a little bigger than the ones used in the original recipe, so I ended up with only 5 cakes. and they were thinner than I expected them to be.

This is also the first time I did a chocolate collar. It stands, but, I have to say, I need to do a lot more practising to get a better finish. Due to the hot and humid weather (and I did this at night!) I used a slightly different method to temper my chocolate. I chopped 1/3 of the chocolate finely and melt 2/3 of the chocolate in the bain marie, stirring until the temperature reaches 42C. Then, i take the chocolate off the heat and stir in the chopped chocolate to take the heat down. After which, I let it sit in an air-conditioned room until the temperature reaches approximately 30C. You can always temper more chocolate than you need, as you can re-melt the chocolate for use at a later time, or just use them in other chocolate recipes.

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Entremet, Small Cakes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

