Week 48: (A different take on) Chocolate Intense

A friend of mine asked if I could help bake a cake for his son’s birthday. I was a little hesitant at first as I wasn’t sure how to decorate a cake for a 4-year-old boy! But, “challenge accepted”!

I figured my usual chocolate glaçage finishing seemed a little too “adult”. Also, I didn’t think it would go too well with the piping of the little boy’s name, which was the one specific decoration request. So after some research, I was inspired by chocolate drizzles! And as this is a very dark chocolatey cake, I thought it would do well with a contrasting white chocolate sauce.

So I did a simple white chocolate sauce during 100g white chocolate couverture with 65ml whipping cream. I was a bit too hasty to drizzle the sauce on the cake and i think it melted off some of the chocolate ganache. So, I put the sauce into the refrigerator to let it cool. In fact, there is no need to worry about it being too firm, as, after an hour in the fridge, it was still runny enough to have a rather nice drizzle.

Verdict from my friend – they really enjoyed the cake! And that, really, is all a hobby baker can ask for.

Image | This entry was posted in Asian pastry, Cake, Celebration cake, Chocolate, Entremet, Mousse and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

