Week 36: Hazelnut and pistachio macarons

As much as I love all things Pierre Hermé, I have to say, my Asian palette prefers my nutty desserts to be tinged with a little salt. So, I have been thinking about the filling for the pistachio and hazelnut macarons I made a while back. And wondering how I can adjust it to better suit my taste.

After a bit of experimentation, I think I have found the perfect filling for the 2 nut-based macarons:

Makes enough to fill 20 macarons

INGREDIENTS

90 grams Swiss meringue buttercream

30 grams pistachio

1/8 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS

1) Lightly toast the pistachio on a pan on low heat

2) When the nuts are slightly browned and fragrant, remove from heat and leave to cool to room temperature

3) Place the cooled nuts with salt into a nut grinder and give it a few pulse. Don’t grind too finely to allow some large pieces to provide some crunch.

4) Lightly fold ground nuts and salt to buttercream and use immediately.

For the hazelnuts, just replace the pistachios with hazelnuts and follow the same steps.

I think I may have found my new favourite macaron!

Image | This entry was posted in Hazelnut, Macaron, Pastry, Pistachio and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 36: Hazelnut and pistachio macarons

  1. Pingback: Week 104: Pistachios and raspberries macarons | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

