Week 32: Courgette and pine nuts muffins

It has been a long time since my last biscuit. And unfortunately, I think it is going to be a long while before my next one – the calorie content is just too scary!

I was looking out for savoury bake for my weekly breakfast and came across these savoury muffin recipes which looked rather hopeful, My first choice was the red onion, cheddar and bacon muffins, but, I gave in to the little voice inside that wants to pick the other, slightly healthier option. Below is my adaptation of the courgette and pine nut muffins:

Makes 12 muffins

INGREDIENTS

200 grams plain flour

40 grams jumbo oats

2 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1 teaspoon flaky sea salt

A few grinds of black pepper

60 grams parmesan, coarsely grated

2 eggs

250 grams whole milk yoghurt

4 tablespoons olive or rapeseed oil

200 grams courgettes, coarsely grated

40 grams cup pine nuts, toasted

DIRECTIONS

1) Heat the oven to 200C/400F/gas mark 6 and line a muffin tin with 12 paper cases.

2) In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, baking powder, bicarb, salt, pepper, basil and parmesan. In a separate bowl, whisk together the eggs, yoghurt and oil, pour this over the dry ingredients and stir with a spatula until roughly combined – don’t overmix. Add the courgettes and pine nuts, and stir just until evenly distributed.

3) Spoon or scoop the batter into the muffin tin and bake for about 18 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the middle of a muffin comes out clean.

Voila! My first attempt at savoury muffins. And I like it. The original recipe called for sultanas and additional parmesan to be sprinkled on top the muffins. But I am not a fan of sultanas. And I figured 60 grams of parmesan is enough for me. And this batch is going to last me for 2 weeks. Happy days!

Image | This entry was posted in Savoury and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

