Week 15: Triple-chocolate mousse cake

So, the most important thing I learnt from this experiment is – allow plenty of time for mousse to set. This bake was intended to be the dessert for our New Year’s Eve dinner. So, the night before, I started on the bottom cake layer, and the dark chocolate mouse.

Seeing Martha Stewart’s recipe appears to call for many egg yolks, and I did not think I will be making that many macarons in the coming days, I thought I would give David Lebovitz’s recipe a try. This recipe is from his book, The Sweet Life in Paris:

INGREDIENTS

7 ounces (200 g) bittersweet or semisweet chocolate, finely chopped

3 tablespoons (45 ml) water

2 tablespoon (30 ml) Chartreuse (or any other liqueur, I used Baileys)

4 large eggs, at room temperature, separated

Pinch of coarse salt

DIRECTIONS

1) In a medium-sized bowl set over a pan of barely simmering water, being melting the chocolate with the water and liquor, making sure not to let it get too hot. Take the bowl off the heat when the chocolate is almost completed melted, then stir gently until smooth. Set aside.

2) In a clean, dry bowl, whip the egg whites with the salt until they form stiff peaks when you lift the whip. They should still be smooth and creamy, not grainy.

3) Stir the egg yolks into the chocolate, then fold one-third of the whites into the chocolate to lighten it up.

4) Fold the remaining egg whites into the chocolate just until there are no visible streaks of whites. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and chill for at least 3 hours.

I know, I know. The instructions said chill for 3 hours, but i was totally unprepared for how running my mousse turned out. In fact, so running, i was almost certain i did it wrong! But it was really late by then, so, i decided to just leave the whole bowl in the fridge.

Fortunately, when I woke up the next day, the mousse was set! Well, “set” enough that i can pipe it into the little plastic rounds I prepared for the cake.

After that, I proceeded to work on the milk chocolate mousse as per Martha’s recipe. It turned out less runny than the first set of mousse. So, after spooning it on top of the dark chocolate mousse.

I was almost sure 3 hours was enough for it to set. Unfortunately I was wrong. So very wrong. 3 hours later, just before my friends arrived, i tried to remove the plastic circles from the cake, but, no go! Thankfully, i was able to whip up a simple chocolate cake, otherwise we would be dessert-less.

I decided to let the cake sit in the freezer, and to my surprise, the next day, it was set perfectly! Even after i let it sit at room temperature for more than 2 hours.

So, I ended up with 8 very delicious, and very sinful mousse cakes. I’m not complaining.

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Mousse, Small Cakes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

