Week 9: Chocolate-rum cheesecake

I have been looking for a good cheesecake recipe, but, gosh, they all require so much cream cheese! Not that I was being cheap (although, maybe a little), but I just didn’t want to spend so much on something that I was not sure would turn out good.

So when I came across this recipe, which seems to require only a modest amount of cream cheese, I thought, maybe I will give it a try. Plus, the chocolate-rum combination also serves as the cherry on top of the cake, figuratively speaking.

I followed the recipe exactly, except I used light rum instead of dark and I sort of baked it until it was pretty much set all over. I used 10 digestive cookies for the crust and on hindsight, I could have used maybe 12 to 14 cookies (and slightly more butter and sugar accordingly). I let it rest outside for a few hours before chucking it into the fridge for a whole day. I was surprised that the crust holds extremely well, And when I finally got to taste it, it was delicious! Mmmmm…

Image | This entry was posted in Cheesecake and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 9: Chocolate-rum cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Week 135: Chocolate rum cheesecake | The Baking Hermit

Leave a Reply

