Week 8: Red velvet and chocolate with peanut butter frosting cupcakes

I love chocolate and I love peanut butter, so, a chocolate cupcake with peanut butter frosting seemed like the perfect thing to bake. Unfortunately, it did not work out too well for me. The cupcake cracked quite a bit even when I was baking it at a rather low temperature, and the peanut butter frosting recipe did not work out well for me. It came out too grainy, so, in the end, I went back to my basic frosting recipe, and added some peanut butter to it. I thought the peanut butter taste was strong enough, and it made for a much smoother piping.

Makes: enough to pipe 12 cupcakes

INCREDIENTS

2 ounces cream cheese at room temperature

1 ounce butter at room temperature

2 ounces creamy peanut butter

½ teaspoon vanilla extract

2 tablespoons powdered sugar

2 tablespoons heavy cream

DIRECTIONS

1) Beat butter, cream cheese and vanilla extract until fluffy.

2) Sift powdered sugar in and continue beating

3) Add heavy cream and beat the mixture until desired texture

4) Add in peanut butter, one tablespoon at a time, until desired taste (adding more may result in grainy texture)

Since I did not quite get what I was expecting, I decided to make another batch of cupcakes. And while I thought the red velvet cupcakes I made the last time was delicious, I did not quite like how it looked. So I have been on the lookout for another, potentially better, recipe. This one from the browneyedbaker yielded a bunch of really pretty and perfectly shaped cupcakes. But, I thought it tasted a bit too densed. Also, I had to add ¼ cup of water to the batter as it appeared to be rather thick. That might have helped to prevent cracking on the cakes. As for the frosting, since I’ve got a rather reliable cream cheese frosting recipe, I thought I’d just stick to it.

Oh well, despite it not being a terribly satisfying weekend bake, at least I ended up with one batch of pretty cupcakes, and another batch of yummy ones.

Image | This entry was posted in Chocolate, Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

