Week 6: Eight-strand plaited loaf

I had a really good laugh watching the contestants on The Great British Bake-off struggling with this technical challenge. And strangely, I had this nagging thought at the back of my mind that I should give it a try. Oh well, since the recipe is readily available, and it uses a very basic bread dough, I thought, it might be fun.

And I have to say, it was fun! And, once you get the hang of it, an 8-strand plait is not that confusing. All the same, I shall list the steps here, for future reference:

Step 1: place 8 under 7 and over 1

Step 2: place 8 over 5

Step 3: place 2 under 3 and over 8

Step 4: place 1 over 4

Step 5: place 7 under 6 and over 1

Repeats step 2-5, until all the dough is braided.

Et voila! Except I made a teeny-weeny mistake of not flouring the parchment on which the loaf was sitting on, and ended up spending 30 painful minutes peeling the parchment off the bread.

Image | This entry was posted in Yeasted bread and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

