Week 4: Lemon cupcake with lemon cream cheese frosting

So far, everything I have made uses some form of chocolate. I thought I should probably try something different, and lemon cupcakes seem like an interesting enough option. Unfortunately, I was not able to find a recipe that I had enough confident. In the end, I decided to just adapt the red velvet recipe and substitute cocoa powder for lemon zest. And, the result was not too bad, if I should say so myself.

Makes: 18

INGREDIENTS

8 ounces cream cheese (directly from fridge)

4 ounces butter (slightly soften but still cool)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup icing sugar

lemon curd to taste

Cupcake is adapted from the Red Velvet Cupcakes, substituting cocoa powder with lemon zest from 3 small lemons

DIRECTIONS

1) Follow directions from Red Velvet Cupcakes, except mix the lemon zest into the wet ingredients just before the flour mix is incorporated.

2) For the frosting, beat together butter and cream cheese until well mixed. Add the vanilla extract, then slowly add icing sugar and lemon curd to taste and desired consistency.

Since I was too lazy to make my own lemon curd, I thought I should get something worthy of home baking, so I got a nice jar of Marks & Spencer’s Sicilian lemon curd, which gave the frosting a nice tang.

Image | This entry was posted in Cupcakes, Lemon and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

